RSS

Tavern Direct Marinades and Sauces Review

07 Nov

Have you ever wanted to have the taste of fine dining in your very own kitchen? I love to cook and love to eat even more and have always wanted to visit one of the finest dining establishments on the planet, Tavern On The Green. While I know that I will probably never be able to make a trip to this dining legend, I now can have some of the amazing flavors they offer, in my kitchen. Tavern Direct allows me to use the marinades, sauces and oils that are used in this kitchen by world class chefs.

Tavern Direct is a philanthropic venture committed to supporting the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children and educating families on keeping their children safe. Every purchase made results in a donation to this amazing foundation.  They have something for every budget and it feels good knowing that by purchasing these products, you are also helping out a very worthwhile cause.
I received several products and am extremely impressed with each and every one.  I used the Old Vine Cabernet & Fire Grilled Garlic marinade on chicken breasts and I let them sit overnight in the fridge.  I am a garlic fanatic and use it every chance I get.  I sauteed the chicken in olive oil and onion and the tantalizing aroma was amazing. In fact, a friend stopped by for a quick visit and commented that she could smell it when she got out of her car.  The chicken was absolutely mouth-watering and the garlic taste was the perfect blend!

The Central Park Signature Dipping oil is probably my favorite product. I bought a loaf of fresh Italian bread from a nearby bakery and served this before dinner. The herbs in the oil  are blended perfectly and would compliment any bread you choose. Garlic, red peppers, basil and Italian balsamic vinegar blend together for a taste that is unlike any I have ever had. 


Next I tried the Blackberry Ginger Balsamic Vinegar. Now I have not used vinegars very often in my cooking but that has changed now. I also used this product on chicken. I placed the chicken in a bowl and used this vinegar as a quick marinade. I then added onion, garlic and green onion to a cast iron skillet to cook them.I also tossed this vinegar in with my potatoes as they cooked in the oven.  Again, it smelled so good in my house that I could hardly wait for dinner time. In the past I have shied away from using vinegar because I felt it would leave a taste my family would not like but I have to say the vinegar taste and scent was almost non-existent and the ginger was the dominant flavor. It was so good that for the first time in a long time, there were no leftovers in my fridge.

If you are looking for a unique holiday gift for a cook or food lover on your list, Tavern Direct offers beautiful gift baskets that have something for everyone. I know one of these gifts would be welcome under my tree this year. Honey, if you’re reading this, the Taste of Italy basket is a good choice! They even offer a Tavern On The Green cookbook! Whether you are a seasoned professional or a beginner in the kitchen, you will love these products. You can find Tavern Direct on Facebook, Twitter and on You Tube  where you can get the latest information on products and promotions.

 

Here is a recipe from Tavern Directs website that will be sure to make your Holiday guests very happy!
Autumn Kissed Sweet Potatoes
( you may have to adjust ingredients to the amount of guests you have)

You will need:

4 boiled sweet potatoes cut into rounds
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup dark brown sugar
2 T Tavern On The Green Citrus On The Green balsamic Vinegar
1 cup chopped walnuts
dash of salt


Preparation: 

Boil the sweet potatoes in their jackets as they are easier to peel this way
mix the brown sugar, nuts and balsamic vinegar
add the butter and mix well
after peeling potatoes, place the rounds in the mixture and toss to mix
place in a prepared glass baking dish
bake for 25 minutes at 350 degrees or until it forms a crunchy crust
sprinkle the dash of salt over it as it cools


 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 7, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
