RSS

Sleeping Bear Farms Honey Review

18 Mar

UPDATE:  I recently placed an order and received the Raspberry Creme Honey and wow!! It is amazing in my ice tea!  Flavored teas are my favorite and this one delivers!! Just the right amount of sweetness and raspberry flavor without being overbearing!  I also purchased the Honey Mustard and my son, husband and grandson are now addicted. They have dipped everything from chicken nuggets to pretzels and love it!!!

 

Sleeping Bear Farms

I am a proud Michigander and love living in this beautiful state, well this Winter has been a long one, but it is still a beautiful place to live and visit. I love that we have all four seasons here and the beauty and grandeur will take your breath away. I have lived here my entire life and love supporting Michigan businesses. We truly have some of the most amazing home-made and home-grown products in this state and you would be hard pressed to find this quality anywhere else.

From the shores of our Great Lakes to the majesty and beauty of our Upper Peninsula ,We Have amazing, local businesses that strive to make products that personify Pure Michigan! One of those companies is Sleeping Bear Farms. This company turns out some of the most amazing honey on the planet. I cannot believe that it took me this long to find them.They are located in Beulah, Michigan,( funny fact: I have called my daughter Ashley, Beulah since the day she was born lol)   on the west side of the state near Lake Michigan. This is a company that started with just two hives of bees and a lot of hard work. Years later they are not only making mouth-watering honey, they even send their bees all over the country to pollinate trees and flowers and raise queen bees!

Sleeping Bear Farms not only produces honey here in Michigan but also in Florida where they make the best honey on Earth, Tupelo.  Tupelo Honey is considered liquid gold and if you have never tasted it, you just don’t know what you are missing. Tupelo trees are grown in the Gulf region and come in different varieties but the most sought after are the White Tupelo or the Ogeechee Tupelo found in the pan handle of Florida. Tupelo honey is the most sought after honey in the world.

I was so excited to receive products from this company and when the box arrived, I was like a kid on Christmas Morning.  I received the Sleeping Bear Farms Raw Honey, the Lemon Honey Creme and Honey Sticks.  I was so excited to try these that I didn’t know what to use them in first. My husband and I are huge Ice tea drinkers and brew our own decaf tea right on our stove. He decided to use one of the honey sticks in his ice tea instead of the usual sugar/ sugar substitute we usually use. He poured his glass of tea and emptied one of the sticks into his glass. I do have to say that this process is much easier if the honey is added while the tea is still hot. He mixed it up and took a long swig and his words were ” Wow, this is so much better than sugar”! I took the glass to see for myself and was absolutely amazed at the difference in taste.  The tea was sweet like we like it but it wasn’t overly sweet. The flavor of the honey completely transformed our love for tea. The taste is smooth and sweet and will be the only way we drink our tea from now on. My husband had me go the website to see how they sold the sticks and I was surprised to see them sold in packs of 50 all the way to packs of 2,000. We will definitely be back for more of these.

PicMonkey Collage

Next we tried the Lemon Creme Honey, which is made from Star Thistle Honey, in our tea as well.  We always add sugar and lemon so I thought this would be a great place to start with this product as well.  Again my husband fresh brewed some tea and added 3 tbs of the Lemon Creme Honey to the tea while it was hot and mixed away. He poured it into a jug that we use just for tea and placed it in the fridge. In an hour, we both poured ourselves a glass over ice. Never again will I use plain old sugar and lemon to sweeten my tea!  We are both hooked and we are honey lovers forever! The taste of the tea was amazing! Sweet, lemony goodness filled our glasses and our hearts!! Sleeping Bear Lemon Creme Honey will be a staple in our home from now on!  After tasting the flavor in my tea, I wanted to see what else I could make with this treasure.  My parents love all things lemon, including a lemon cake that I make. I decided to see if I could make a lemony glaze for my cake with the Lemon Creme Honey. Guess what? It is AMAZING!!  I simply used the Lemon Honey Cream and some powdered sugar and a bit of melted butter  and the Heavens opened up and Angels sang as we tasted this heavenly glaze!! Needless to say, my parents were hooked too! It is shocking to me how just 3 ingredients can add so much flavor!

1911953_10203570529774051_585101941_n

I even got my family involved in trying these products and brought a jar of the Lemon Creme Honey over to my southern parents who can both cook their butts off. My parents are from a time and place where you made everything yourself and know the quality of a good product!  My dad, at 70 years old is in better shape than most forty-year olds and takes great care of himself. He takes a spoonful of apple cider vinegar everyday for health reasons. ( Feel free to look up the health benefits for yourself). He usually adds a spoonful of the vinegar to water and drinks it down so I thought he could add the Lemon Creme Honey to make it more palatable. He added a spoonful to his hot water then added the vinegar and he loved it! It completely cut out the bitter taste of the vinegar and he now uses it daily!  Honey has health benefits as well so my dad was a happy man!

Honey is a natural energy booster, it is an immunity system builder and is a natural remedy for many ailments. Feeling groggy in the mornings? Instead of reaching for a soda, coffee or energy drink, try honey! Spread it on your toast or add it to tea. Honey taken before a workout can give you that extra boost you need too! Honey has antioxidant and anti-bacterial properties that can help the digestive system and has been proven to help with ailments such as yeast infections and arthritis pain and swelling.Because of Honey’s anti bacterial properties, it is amazing for sore throats and famous singers even use it. Honey can even help with insomnia.

If you want to move away from sugar and artificial sweeteners and choose a product that not only tastes better but has restorative properties, look no further than Sleeping Bear Farms Honey Products. I promise you will not be disappointed!  They have so many products to choose from that I am sure you will find your new favorite!

  • Raw Honey
  • Tupelo Honey
  • Wildflower Honey
  • Honey Comb
  • Star Thistle Honey
  • Cherry Honey Cream
  • Lemon Honey Creme
  • Raspberry Honey Creme
  • Star Thistle Honey Creme
  • Honey Mustards
  • Maple Syrup

I know I will be trying the Raspberry Honey Creme next because I love flavored Ice tea and I know this will be the perfect flavor!  The next product on the list for my hubby is the maple syrup and my son is eager to try the Honey Mustards. Sleeping Bear Farms even offers gift sets that would make the perfect gifts for anyone in your life! I would love to take one of these gift sets to my next house-warming party!  Make sure you head over to their Website as well as their Facebook  page where you can keep up to date on their latest products and promotions.  Make sure you sign up for their newsletter too!

You can also head over and check out St Ambrose Cellars, a sister company, that makes the most amazing wines!  After reading and researching all of the health benefits of wine, I will be picking a favorite myself! You can even find them on Facebook!

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 18, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Sleeping Bear Farms Honey Review

  1. Charity C (@signingcharity)

    March 18, 2014 at 8:27 am

    I grew up very close to this area. I will have to like their facebook page.

    Like

     
  2. pankuch1605

    March 18, 2014 at 9:25 am

    I never knew some of these things about it. I love flavored ice teas also. Sounds yummy.

    Like

     
  3. Jennifer Keeton

    March 19, 2014 at 4:02 am

    What an awesome place! We are a bit honey obsessed here. I will be checking out their FB and website.

    Like

     
  4. Dawn @ Pin-n-Tell

    March 19, 2014 at 10:41 am

    Love me some HONEY! I had no idea the varieties! I’ll have to get me some, after all honey doesn’t expire!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
