RSS

Coppertone Clearly Sheer sunscreen is not for this family.

11 Jun

I recently was given the opportunity to try Coppertone Clearly Sheer Sunscreen products. I have purchased Coppertone products over the years and since it is such a trusted name, I figured these products would be just like all of their others. I could not have been more wrong. The first product I tried was the Clearly Sheer for Sunny Days with spf30. I liberally applied to my self and to my five-year old grandson 20 minutes before we went outside to play. We were outside less than an hour and I could already see that my little one was getting very red. It was not a particular hot day, about 74 degrees and partly sunny. I took him in the house only to find that he was a lot more than red, he was already starting to blister and when I was as red as a lobster myself. I immediately applied aloe to both of us but it was too late for him. With in a day he completely blister and peel. He cried that he hurt all day long and it was miserable for him.

Now this is a child that has never burned before while using other sunscreen products. He has naturally light olive skin and usually just tans. I felt so terrible because I could not do anything for him. We tried the aloe, sprays, creams etc and nothing helped.

A week later I decided to try the Clearly Sheer for beach and pool before I got into our pool. I was already wary because of how the other product lacked. I only stayed in the pool for about 40 minutes. Again I went into the house and low and behold I was all red again. Now I realize it is only spf30 but when a product states it is for water use up to 80 minutes, then I should not be burned after just half that time.

It does have a light, sheer feel to the lotion that quickly absorbs into the skin and leaves behind no oily residue. The scent is also light and nice but unfortunately the scent and feel does not over take the lack of skin protection.  In my opinion, try another brand.

 

 

#GotItFree  I received products for review for free as I am a member of BzzAgent. My opinions are my own and I only recommend products that I believe will benefit my readers.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
