RSS

No Sugar added Crack Sticks Recipe

12 Feb

Crack sticks??? I know you must be thinking I’m crazy but let me tell you, these I have named correctly because they are HIGHLY ADDICTIVE so make at your own risk!!  I first created these about 2 years ago, well before my bariatric surgery. I was having a Thirty One Tote party and was trying to come up with some new finger foods that are easy to eat while you are browsing through their amazing totes, which is another addiction of mine!  So I just started playing with stuff I already had in the kitchen and this is what I came up with. I didn’t have a name for them until after they were being devoured. By the time the party broke up 3 hours later, all 60 that I had made were either eaten on the spot or wrapped up by the guests to take home and all I was left with was a cinnamon/sugar splattered platter!

The consultant was gone about 10 minutes when I received a text from her asking for the recipe. I had 10 guests there and every one of them at some time that evening called, texted or emailed me wanting the recipe. So I guess I am now the dealer 🙂

Now I changed up the recipe a bit to accommodate my sugar-free needs but they are just as good as the originals and in fact the same people who got the recipe from me did not know the new ones I made were the no sugar added version and they were gone just as fast. So use this recipe with caution or you may have a riot on your hands! You may want to double the recipe by the 2nd time you make these as the recipe is for about 20.  I don’t have a photo of these right now as I have not made them in a while cause I had to go into rehab lol  but I will have one on soon.

No Sugar Added Crack Sticks

2 packages of small flour tortillas ( each pack has 10-12 tortillas depending on brand) softened

2 packages of fat-free cream cheese ( I use whatever brand is cheaper and it always tastes the same)

2 cups Splenda Granulated

2 tbs Splenda Brown sugar blend

3 tbs cinnamon

2 tsp fresh lemon juice

2 tbs vanilla

cookie sheet

1 cup vegetable, canola,  any lower fat oil

 

 

In a deep pan, skillet fryer etc  pour 1 cup oil of your choice

Preheat oven to 350

 

In large mixing bowl ( glass works best for non-stick) mix the softened cream cheese and the lemon juice til it mixes evenly and gets a bit fluffy. Can do by hand or with hand mixer.

Add the  vanilla and mix again

add in the Splenda granulated and mix well. It will now have the consistency of a cheesecake mix

add the Splenda brown sugar slowly as you mix, and then mix well again

 

open a tortilla and spread a generous layer of the cream cheese mixture down the center , roll up like a taquito and place aside on a plate

keep doing this til you run out of mixture

In a small mixing bowl mix together   2 tsp cinnamon and 4 tsp Splenda granulated  mix well set aside

once you have them all done make sure your oil in your frying pan is really hot and place as many as you can in the oil without them being on top of each other. I suggest using tongs because this is going to be a quick process and have the cookie sheet near you. Let them fry for just a about 2 minutes each.  Once you have them fried, and laid out on the cookie sheet, take the small bowl of cinnamon sugar mix and shake a little over each one for a garnish.

Bake for about 12 minutes or until they start getting golden brown.  Every oven cooks differently so just keep an eye on them. No one wants burned crack sticks 🙂

You can eat these warm or cold they are good either way. I prefer a bit on the warm side. If you have any left you can seal them in an air-tight container in the fridge for up to 3 days or so.  You can also just fry them in the oil and skip the baking, I just don’t like to have all of that oil in mine and the baking takes some of that out.

 

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-28770337-2’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “No Sugar added Crack Sticks Recipe

  1. rachel m

    March 1, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    Oooh this sounds absolutely addictive. I cannot wait to try them. Thanks so much for all of the recipes. They are amazing

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
