RSS

Pineapple Upside Down Dump Cake Recipe

06 Mar

I love Dump cakes. They are so easy and taste so awesome! What I really love about them is the variety of recipes that you can come up with and the sky is the limit on your creativity. Just remember there are no mistakes in cooking or baking, just learning opportunities. Every time something doesn’t come out exactly like you wanted it too, it is just a teaching opportunity! Some of the best dishes and desserts on the planet started out as “mistakes”.

Dump cakes are so versatile and you can have such a good time coming up with your own recipes, you can include the kids with these easy recipes and imagine the memories you will make. I have even had my friends over for a girl’s night and we have sat around ( with wine in hand ūüôā brainstorming new recipes for dump cakes. I could probably post a new dump cake recipe everyday for the rest of the year, that’s how many versions that are possible.

This recipe for the pineapple upside down dump cake is one that was made out of necessity as I used what I had on hand and needed a cake that I could eat as i have adopted as close to a sugar-free lifestyle as I can. We were having a birthday party for my step-daughter and I knew I would want cake because who can go to a birthday party and not want cake? So I set about creating something I could enjoy too. The cake turned out so well that, honest truth, the dump cake was eaten by everyone there and was gone while the “birthday cake” had only 3 slices missing from it. I gave out this recipe to everyone that was there by request, thankfully I have a printer that copies as well or I would have had carpal tunnel from all of the writing. ¬†A few tips before I get on with the recipe: with the cake mix do not use a cake mix that says super moist or pudding added. A basic cake mix absolutely works the best and believe me there is a difference, remember I said there are no mistakes only learning opportunities? Well I had many of those teaching moments myself. ¬†Also before using the cake mix place it in a large freezer bag and seal it up good. Use your hands to knead the cake mix and get out any clumps, you want it as smooth as possible and cake mix straight from the box is always clumpy. Remember that even though this is dump cake, it will turn out more like a cobbler and will not rise like a regular cake so don’t think you messed it up. The biggest tip I can give you about these cakes is make sure you use enough butter, this is the key to a good cake. ¬†Every know Miss Paula Deen, I so want to meet her, uses butter like it’s going out of style and with these dump cake recipes you will be using a lot and my tip is to use real, unsalted butter. I hate the fake stuff because if you look up the ingredients, it is one chemical away from being plastic and I don’t know about you but the last thing I want to eat is plastic. I generally use 2 sticks of butter per cake and make sure they are cut into pats. ¬†Okay, enough of my rambling, here is the recipe…..

Ingredients

9×13 glass baking dish ( glass works better)

2 regular size cans of crushed pineapple. Please use a name brand not generic, there is a huge difference in quality when it comes to these cakes.

2 sticks unsalted butter

1 box basic yellow cake mix ( can use Pillsbury sugar-free as well, I always do!)

1/2 cup brown sugar ( I use splenda)

2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F

Pour the 2 cans of crushed pineapple, juice and all, into¬†the¬†baking dish and spread it around til it’s even in the dish.

in a separate bowl mix the cinnamon and brown sugar together making sure you get the clumps out of the brown sugar. Mix well

sprinkle the brown sugar/cinnamon mix evenly over the pineapples. do not mix it!! Just sprinkle it over.

place the cake mix ( dry mix   do not add anything to the dry mix) in a large freezer bag and seal it. Use your hands to knead it through the bag to get out all of the clumps. I have even ran the mix through my mixer to smooth it out but the bag is easier. sprinkle the dry cake mix over the brown sugar mix and pineapples and DO NOT mix it  just sprinkle over and leave it.

Cut the 2 sticks of butter into pats. Place the pats of butter onto the dry cake mix making sure you cover all of the areas. In my opinion it’s better to have too much butter than not enough because the butter is key to this type of caking cooking so if you need more butter to cover the entire cake, then by all means use it. I know I have. When the cake is cooking and you notice some of the cake mix isn’t mixing into the juices, simply melt a little more butter and pour over that spot.

Place the baking dish in the oven uncovered and bake for 40-45 minutes. It sometimes takes longer. The way this cake bakes is a reaction from the juice of the fruit, the fruit and the butter so don;t worry if it takes a little longer. This cake will never rise like a regular cake so expect more of a cobbler consistency. Use a toothpick to check the cake but it will not come out clean like a regular cake. Just make sure it is not still a runny consistency. The top will get brown and seem a little crust like, this is normal and really gives the cake a great flavor.

Enjoy by itself or add some ice cream or whipped cream!!

10551441_10204750307627760_6890993001451905160_o

See how it has a cobbler like quality and sort of a crust. YUMMY

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
