RSS

Slow Cooker Ham? Yes I said ham!

06 Mar

Have you ever thought of putting a ham in a slow cooker? As much as I love to cook, I have to admit I have never thought of ham and crock pot together. Since I have cooked just about every other meat in a slow cooker, I guess why not ham. I am thoroughly intrigued!

This simple recipe is from All Recipes and it looks amazing. I will be trying this soon.And the best thing is that you only need two ingredients!  If you have ever cooked a ham in a crock pot leave a comment and let us know how it tasted, the recipe you used or if you have used any other meats that most of us would not consider crock pot food.

You Need

2 cups brown sugar ( I use Splenda)

1 ham about 8 lbs ( I only use spiral cut ham, not like the one in the picture)

 

Directions:

Spread 1 and 1/2 cup of the brown sugar across the bottom of the crock pot.  Place the ham flat side down. Unless you have a really large crock pot you may have to trim the ham. Use your hands to rub the remaining 1/2 cup brown sugar onto the ham. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours.   My little twist with ham is to add maple syrup to the remaining half cup of brown sugar and then baste onto the ham. I have done this with every ham I have cooked and it is A—Mazing!! So I will be trying this with the crock pot ham.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
