RSS

Wanna come home to a dessert that baked itself?

06 Mar

I am absolutely in love with my crock pot. I’m serious! If someone tried to take it away from me the claws would come out and they one be in for one heck of a fight. If it ever “dies” on me I swear I would be so broken up I would have to go into mourning. Crockie and I have been through a lot together, good and bad. We have been through amazing meals and some not so amazing ones. She knows my secrets cause I talk to her each time we cook together and she never tells a soul.

Right now I am a little upset with her because she has been keeping a secret FROM me. I never knew that she could bake a dessert all by herself that was absolutely amazing and kept the family coming back for more. She has been a naughty girl because had I known, we would have already had years of desserts behind us.

Now I have seen recipes on the internet and on sites like Pinterest that are made in a crock pot but I have to admit even though I am the self-appointed queen of the crock pot, I have never tried one. But that is a thing of the past. This recipe is a version of a dump cake that just bakes by itself and you don’t have to worry about constantly checking it. If you don’t know what a dump cake is, it’s the most awesome thing ever! Even the beginner baker can make a dump cake in no time flat and have it come out perfect. It involves very few ingredients, absolutely no pastry chef skills and very little time. A dump cake consists of a cake mix that you do not add the ingredients that are on the box, you only use the powdered mix. There are so many variations on these cakes that I could start a whole new blog and post nothing but dump cake recipes.  A simple dump cake recipe is a pineapple upside down cake.  All you need to do is get a 9×13 glass baking dish ( I say glass because they just come so much better in glass and you get to SEE the cake).Preheat oven to  400 degrees.  Dump two small or one large can of crushed pineapple, juice and all, into the dish and spread it out evenly with a spatula. Take 1/2 cup of brown sugar and by hand, sprinkle it over the pineapples evenly. You may be to “squish” the brown sugar by hand to get out the lumps.You need a yellow cake mix but avoid the ones that have “pudding” in them.  Pour the cake mix ( remember it’s the dry cake mix, do not add anything to it) over the brown sugar and pineapples and juice. DO NOT MIX it together, just sprinkle the cake mix over the top evenly. My one tip is to put the cake mix into a large freezer bag before using it and zip the top closed then gently mix it up with your hands just to get the lumps out before sprinkling over the pineapple. Take a stick of butter ( real butter tastes the best, but use unsalted) and cut it into as many pats as you can. You may need a little more than 1 stick, I know I always do. Place the pats on top of the cake mix, making sure each area of the cake has a pat on it. Again do not mix or press the butter down into the cake just lay it on top.

Place uncovered in the oven and bake for about 40-45 minutes. This cake does not rise like a normal cake so don’t freak out when it just lays flat. It ends up being more like a cobbler consistency. Stick a toothpick in to check it. It will not come out completely clean when like a real cake is done but you do not want to see a runny batter either. It will get a dark brown color and a crust like top when it is done.  Serve warm or cold, it’s good either way and I usually add some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream on top and a few cherries and it’s amazing! I will have a future post about dump cakes and some of the MANY variations I have created myself.  Also remember if you are like me and need everything as sugar-free as you can get, Pillsbury makes sugar-free cakes mixes and they work perfectly and are actually the only cake mixes I use and my hubby, kids, grandson and the rest of the family gobble them up, there are never any left overs.

Okay so now after that long rambling rant ( wink) here is the recipe for the slow cooker dump cake. This recipe is from All Recipes and even though they do not call it a dump cake, they call it a black forest cake, it is actually a dump cake just by the way it’s made. I love the idea of trying it in the crock pot because I can go about my day and not have to worry about it or if you have to go out for a few hours, you can start it in the morning and come home to a sweet treat!

 

  1. Melt the butter in a small saucepan, and mix with reserved juice from the can of pineapple. Set the mixture aside.
  2. Spread the crushed pineapple in a layer on the bottom of a slow cooker. Spoon the cherry pie filling in an even layer on top of the pineapple, and empty the dry cake mix into the slow cooker on top of the cherry filling. Stir the butter and pineapple juice mixture, and pour it over the dry cake mix.
  3. Set the slow cooker to Low, and cook for 3 hours. Spoon the dessert into bowls, and let cool about 5 minutes to cool the hot pie filling before eating.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
